quoi?

I had a blog in high school. Yes, it was a Xanga, which is why I undoubtedly am qualified to be your APALSA Co-President. Anyway, said blog had a mix of posts, but pretty thoroughly discussed both political and personal issues. Although it was technically anonymous, of course I linked to it in my AIM profile. (Again, dating myself.) (Actually, now that I think about it, I started it in high school — sophomore year — and really didn’t abandon it until 2008 or so.)

I started this blog in 2009 with the deliberate purpose of never writing about purely personal topics ever again. Obviously, at this point, that’s fallen by the wayside. But hey, I did a damn good job of staying away from “personal” shit until at least October, and it didn’t really start snowballing until November. Of course, my personal experiences always heavily informed my policy analysis, but whose don’t? At least I was straightforward about why I looked at things certain ways. Anyway, that’s what I keep telling myself.

So, the interesting question to me is attempting to figure out why, exactly, this has changed. This influx of personal excess certainly accelerated once I got to law school. Was it just being more emo? Because I feel happier than ever before. Is it that law school is just so chock full of “not personal” information that I don’t have the energy to deal with similar issues through blogging? Is it that law school is so divorced from real life that I’m no longer compelled to discuss those issues, like education, with which I used to work all the time? Hmm? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

