Privacy Invasion Alert

So, like any normal, red-blooded American, I just googled myself.  First result?  www.whitepages.com directory result, which I’d never clicked before, assuming it wasn’t me.

Lo and behold, they had my name, age, AND street address (including apartment number) up on their public viewing page.  WHAT THE FUCK?!!   I’m not even in the regular phone book, so what the fuck is this bullshit?

I was able to “remove my listing,” but we’ll see if it works.  In the mean time, I’m seriously disturbed.  Oh, and to remove my listing, I had to log in with a Yahoo/Gmail account anyway, so I’m pretty nervous that whitepages.com now has even more information about me.

Check it yourself and remove your information, if you want.  (I’d strongly recommend it.)  Also, spread the word and contact your legislators!!!  These sites should be opt-in, not opt-out.  If our standard is opt-out, who knows how many sites we’ve never heard of publicly display our own, personal information?

Leave a Reply

